DIY: Marbled Decor (With Nail Polish)

It’s been a long while since I’ve posted a DIY. Not for lack of DIY-ing, but for lack of documentation! So, I finally decided to document my recent DIY efforts while making some hand made gifts for the holidays.

I originally tried this idea with my mom a couple of years ago and it worked so well. We loved the results. (We made marbled, beautiful coffee mugs!). I decided to attempt this DIY again as gifts for the holidays with some simple, versatile dishes as practical decor pieces for around the house.

Let’s get to it!


 

Supplies you’ll need:

  • Nail Polish
  • Toothpicks
  • Dishes (Ceramic work best, I found the ones below at the dollar store!)
  • Warm Water
  • Bowl/Container (big enough to dip the items in)

Directions:

  1. Use a damp cloth to clean the dishes and remove any stickers/price tags. (You’ll see from the pictures, I skipped this step…Hahaha)
  2. Fill up the bowl/container 3/4 full with warm water.
  3. Choose the nail polish colour you would like and drip 2-5 drops of the colour into the warm water.
  4. Quickly use toothpicks to swirl the colour around.
  5. Dip the dish once into the water/nail polish slowly, being sure to “catch” all of the colour.
  6. Remove the dish from the water and pat dry or let air dry.

That’s it! Beautiful and ready to use!


 

 


Tips:

  • Hand wash dishes only – not dishwasher safe.
  • If any mistakes happened, erase with nail polish remover, and repeat the process again. (No one will ever know…)
  • Play with the colours! Neutral colours really look like marble, bright colours look funky and modern, or combine colours if you are feeling extra creative!

 

I gifted these beautiful little dishes to my parents for the holidays and kept one for myself! They are perfect for keys, coins, jewellery, and random items that collect on counters–you know what I mean.

Here’s a picture my parents sent me of the gift in use! (I asked for proof.)

FullSizeRender (4)

Give this DIY a try, its easy and beautiful, not to mention inexpensive. I had a lot of fun and will definitely revisit this DIY again in the future!

Stay Curious.

 

2 comments

  1. AyeshaMalick · January 8, 2016

    Awesome!

  2. C · January 7, 2016

    Love this DIY! Super cute 🙂
    http://www.fortheloveofblonde.com

Leave a Reply

